You are awful, but I like you.

While I am mostly a horrible film snob, there are some films that I really, really like but really, really shouldn’t if I want to maintain my film snob credentials.  So while I’ll always refer to Le Fabuleux Destin d’Amélie Poulain and I’ll always prefer the original European versions of The Vanishing and Funny Games, I also secretly love these offerings.

Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy

From the 1970s newsreader names to the all-star newsroom crews street battle – “Yeah, there were horses, and a man on fire, and I killed a guy with a trident” – the ridiculousness of this film knows no bounds.  And yet it is endlessly quotable and always, always funny.

Bull Durham

Smart, funny and extremely sexy. You don’t have to care a jot about baseball to love this little gem.  Very possibly the last time that Kevin Costner was this devastatingly sexy. Or cool. And of course, there’s that “I believe” speech from Crash where he tells Susan Sarandon’s Annie how he believes, among other things, in “long, slow, deep, soft, wet kisses that last three days.”  Oh, my.

Clerks/Dogma/Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, etc.

Back when Kevin Smith was original and funny, he created Jay and Silent Bob as part of his View Askewniverse.  Smith’s Silent Bob and his “hetero life-mate” Jay, brilliantly played by Jason Mewes as a potty-mouted, homophobic drug dealer, generally bumble through these films as unlikely anti-heroes.  Crass and uncouth, they make you laugh in a way that has you clapping your hand over your face to see if anyone caught you laughing.

Sex And The City 2

Ok, I confess.  I was one of the twelve people that paid good money to see this film on its theatrical release.  I’ll also admit this.  I love SATC.  I do. Even when Carrie is being a whiny, self-obsessed, pain in the ass, I can still find lots to love about the show.  I didn’t entirely enjoy the first film, especially after the wonderful ending to the series, but I gave it a go.  But this second film I loved.  Yeah, I know that the story was crap, the acting was poor and the location…well let’s face it, the City in Sex And The City was pretty much absent. But for giving us the 80s bubble-perm flashbacks, the Miranda/Charlotte “take a sip” scene on the joys of motherhood, and for giving us the gayest of all the gay weddings ever committed to film, it was totally worth it.

Lucky Number Slevin

I saw this film at the cinema by accident. I had a gift card that was on its last day and ran to the nearest Odeon and this was all that was on apart from Scary Movie 4. Lucky Number Slevin is like the bastard child of Pulp Fiction and The Usual Suspects that no-one really loves. It’s like the kid in school who’s really not as cool or as clever as he’d like to think he is.  It boasts alarmingly clichéd performances from Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman and (call me Sir) Bendy Kingsley. But then it does have Josh Hartnett giving a wonderfully cocky turn as the eponymous Slevin who spends a significant amount of time wearing nothing but a towel and Lucy Liu as his sweet and clever partner in crime. Even if the rest of the film stinks, you find yourself rooting for a happy ending for these two.

Leave a Reply

