Present etiquette minefield

Day 4 of enforced idleness and I’ve pretty much filled out wish lists on every website I can think of.  It’s highly unlikely that I’ll ever take ownership of all the things I’ve cyber-wished for, I may get one or two as presents somewhere along the line.  Or not, knowing my luck with presents.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m the world’s most grateful receiver of presents.  I’m so thrilled that some kind person has thought of me and gone to the time, trouble and expense of going out and picking something especially for me.  I think that the whole process is lovely beyond words.

I used to date a fella who had a mad old nana who loved to knit things.  Every birthday, Christmas and Easter old nana Canada (as she liked to call herself.  I don’t know why, she wasn’t Canadian) knitted me jumpers of increasing hideousness, which I wore with pride.  I mean, I was dating one of her grandsons.  I was no big deal to her and yet she’d sat and actually made a thing by hand that she thought I’d like.  And I did.

So while I love the thought of someone giving me a present, I can’t say I’m always happy with the present itself.  Maybe my eternal gratefulness at actually getting something makes people think I’m easily pleased.

To give you an idea of this, I’ll tell you why I no longer engage in Christmas at work, more specifically, secret santa.  Whenever I got my secret santa, I’d get the person something I know they’d love and not a thing that would cause general amusement for all of 30 seconds.

So when I got my mate Bobby in the draw, Bobby got a DVD of the original French 37°2 le matin, a film I knew he loved and wanted.   And what did I get?  I got a Blowpipe Action Man.  A  f***ing Blowpipe Action Man.

Seriously.  The guy who bought it for me had gone to Home & Bargain.  He had walked the length of Home & Bargain to reach the toy bit.  Past, I should add, aisle after aisle of bath oils, nail kits, mugs, scented candles, hell even a twin-pack of Cilit Bang and some micro cloths would’ve been better than the f***ing Action Man.

So now I don’t do Christmas at work.  Unlike nana Canada and her loose-knit, batwing, snowy, pirate jumpers,  there was just no thought whatsoever given by Action Man guy.

Anyway, I thought I’d make public some of the things I’d really love on the off-chance that some lovely person wants to get me summat.  Well, a girl can wish, can’t she.

Wish list
Essie Nail polish in California Coral & Big Bang Theory £ 9.95 each
Nars Laguna Body Illuminator £33.00
L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream £17.50
Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser £13.25
Bobbi Brown Pretty Powerful Face Pallette £42.00
Bourjois Volume Glam Ultra Curl mascara in Deep Black £7.99
Estee Lauder Double Wear Zero-Smudge Liquid Eyeliner in Black £18.00
Burt’s Bees Lemon Cuticle Cream £6.12

Now if someone could just pass this on to my mum……..
Leave a Reply

